make your own laundry soap

When I first came across a recipe for making your own laundry soap here at The Family Homestead I was intrigued!  Could it be possible: a cheap, eco-friendly laundry soap that you make yourself with easy-to-find ingredients?  I was also a bit sceptical so I researched it further on the web and found more detailed entries at Instructables.com and frugaldad.com.  I decided to give it a try. 

For my (slightly adapted) recipe I used:

1/3 bar sunlight laundry soap, grated

1/2 cup Arm & Hammer washing soda

1/2 cup borax

Following the recipe at thefamilyhomestead.com I ended up with a huge bucket of gel-like laundry goop which I have been using for a few weeks now.  I should add that I have a 2-year-old and I use cloth diapers, so a few weeks adds up to a LOT of laundry!   So far I am very happy with the results!  

Having an active toddler, I need something that will get things really clean, and this goop seems to do the trick.  I still have to double-rinse her diapers, but I was doing that before with Tide so it’s no big loss.  But my whites are white, the colours aren’t fading, and things smell fresh and clean, but not perfumey.  

The ingredients cost me less than a box of Tide, and I have enough left over to make at least 3 more batches–probably more.  But the fact that it’s easier on the environment also makes me happy.  For my next attempt I will try using pure castile soap instead of Sunlight to make it even more gentle on the environment.

Leave a Reply

