Vermicomposting

My worms have finally entered their rubbermaid container home, which has been waiting for them for at least a week.  I’ve been so excited to get started with this.  The last time I vermicomposted seems like a lifetime ago, back when I was a grad student living on the Danforth in Toronto.

Well, I’ve been feeding them all my veggie scraps . . . ALL my veggie scraps . . . and I think it’s a bit much for them.  My first indication is that it’s a bit, well, smelly. 

We live in a 2-bedroom apartment in an old building, with a teeny-tiny kitchen which houses the vermicompost under the sink.  I can’t think of anywhere else to put it, but I’m not sure they’re going to last where they are.

My strategy at the moment is to basically leave them be for a couple weeks, garbage my scraps & trimmings as I had been doing in life-before-vermies, and let them catch up.   Then I’ll follow the recommended “one pound of scraps per week” until they seem to be keeping up.  I’m not going to give up on them quite yet, but I’m beginning to think they might not last too long under the kitchen sink.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

