Accidentally Vegan

So, I realized this afternoon that we’ve been eating vegan for the last couple of days without really realizing it. It’s not 100% because we did have butter, and there were some cookies that also had eggs, but our veggie chili from the last 2 nights, and my olive-y pasta today at lunch, are completely meat-, dairy- and egg-free.

Not that I’m a voluntary vegan by any means. I like my animal products very much (especially when I can get them from local, organic, sustainable sources). But I have discovered a few nice things about eating vegan:

– It’s cheap! As I twittered about the other day, our entire meal of veggie chili, tea biscuits and organic strawberries came in at around $7 (the strawberries were on sale); and that fed 2 adults and a toddler (who only eats the chick peas & beans) for 2 suppers and a lunch.

– It’s easy! For the chili I just chucked a bunch of stuff in the slow cooker, after sauteeing the onions with the spices, and let it simmer away for a few hours. The pasta sauce was a matter of sauteeing onions and garlic, adding a can of diced tomatoes, and then chucking in some olives, mushrooms & spices for extra flavour. I don’t think vegan cooking is always this easy, but these 2 dishes were basically no-effort.

– It’s healthy! Beans & noodles to fill you up, veggies to add dimension & nutrition, and only a couple teaspoons of oil to fry the onions in. I think you would have to try pretty hard to make vegan food fattening.

So there you go. I’m not going to turn over a new leaf here, but I’m going to keep track of my “accidentally vegan” meals to see if they’re all this cheap, easy and healthy. It might turn out that Veganism might have more to offer than I ever expected!

Leave a Reply

