Shampoo-Free Report, Day #1

I recently came upon some blogs talking about the concept of going Shampoo Free. Huh?!? How do you survive without a daily or so shampooing??  I tried going cold-turkey once, just letting my hair “go natural” and I quickly acquired a lovely hobo-like smell that didn’t go away from just rinsing with water.  Not an experiment I want to repeat, thank you much.

So, fearing the hobo smell, I followed the links with caution.  I first read a reference on a blog called Angry Chicken where she is reporting on going nearly 2 months without using shampoo!  She mentions using baking soda and a vinegar rinse, and a link leads to a livejournal blog called “Babyslime” with a thorough explanation of replacing your shampoo  & conditioner with baking soda and vinegar.

Basically you mix 1 tbsp of baking soda with 1 cup of water and use that as your “shampoo” or cleanser.  Rinse with water.  Then use a follow-up rinse of 1 or 2 tbsp of Apple Cider Vinegar in 1 cup of water.  Rinse thoroughly with water, cold recommended.

Sounds easy enough, and it is!  But does it clean your hair?

Well, I decided to give it a try today after noticing that this pregnancy is leaving my hair very clean for many days.  Today was day 4 after washing, and I could have “almost” gone to work with the hair I woke up with.  I figure the hormones are reducing my oil production or something, but anyway, it seemed like a good time to try it.

So, using two plastic containers that my daughter plays with in the bath, I went to the kitchen before my shower and chucked some baking soda into one and some vinegar into the other.  In the shower, I just added some water as directed and poured mixture 1 over my head.  The neat thing was, it “felt” like it was doing something.  Some ran over my face, and it didn’t hurt my eyes.  I rinsed, and then tried the vinegar solution.  It really smelled like vinegar!  I think I used too much, and will try less next time.

And the end result?  My hair felt really soft, and looked totally nice and clean, just as if I had shampooed it today.  I think it feels even softer than usual, probably because the vinegar reversed the effects of our somewhat hard water.  The Pioneer Woman touts the virtues of a vinegar rinse (regarless of shampoo use or lack thereof) on her website too, so it’s really not just me!

So, day 1 is a complete and unqualified success! I’m going to keep up the experiment and will let you know how it goes after a couple of weeks.  Let me know if you try it too!

One thought on “Shampoo-Free Report, Day #1

Leave a Reply

