Tortilla-riffic!

Since my tortilla-making adventure on Monday, I have begun a quest–QUEST, I say!–for the perfect tortilla recipe.  I scanned the blogosphere and found a couple of references (here and here) to one recipe recommended as the most authentic flour tortilla to be found north of the US-Mexico border.  I had to try it.

Luckily it is a very easy recipe.  It was also very very good, much better and lighter than the recipe I posted yesterday.  The dough was also much easier to work with, given that it wasn’t sopping with lard.  This is a tortilla one can eat two of and still have room for salad.

I think *now* I have found my new summer bread.  My next challenge will be making it on the barbecue, which I am sure is possible, with my cast iron pan–the goal being to continue to eat home-made bread throughout the summer, without heating up the house to make it.

Texas Flour Tortillas (from The Border Cookbook by Cheryl Alters Jamison and Bill Jamison)

2 cups (10 oz) all purpose flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

2 tsp vegetable oil

3/4 cup milk, warmed

Whisk dry ingredients together in a large bowl.  Add oil and milk, warmed for 30 seconds in the microwave, stirring to form a soft dough.  Turn out onto a floured surface and knead gently for 2 minutes to bring together into a smooth dough.  Oil the bowl, roll the ball of dough so it is oiled on top, and then cover with plastic wrap or a damp tea towel and let sit for 20 minutes.  Divide into 8 balls and let sit another 10 minutes.

While dough is resting for the second time, heat a heavy-bottomed pan (cast iron is recommended) on medium heat.  Roll out your first ball of dough to form a circle and place into dry hot pan.  While it is cooking, roll out the next tortilla.  Let it brown and puff up on one side, then flip.  It will probably char in places, which adds a depth of flavour.  Cook on each side for 30-40 seconds.

Keep tortillas covered and warm, and serve immediately after making.  Can be frozen in a foil package and reheated gently in the oven.

Makes 8 tortillas.

7 thoughts on “Tortilla-riffic!

    1. They hold together much better than the store-bought tortillas/wraps, but the taste . . . well, it’s no comparison, really! I made a sandwich with one for my lunch today–forgot to photograph it–and it did crack a little on one side, but still held together very well. It reminds me of the kind of wrap sandwiches you can buy at Boushey’s or Marcello’s.

      I will look into ways of “holding” them that will keep them soft & pliable.

  1. I am so looking forward to fajitas tonight now 😀 thanks for the recipe! I just ate one of yours and it was deeee-licious. Never buying tortillas again!

    I always warm up the tortilla in the microwave for about 20 seconds before filling and folding them- it softens them and makes them more pliable/foldable without the crack ‘n’ leak.

Leave a Reply

