Quick Tip: Free Phone call

One Sunday, my partner, our daughter and I were headed to the Farmer’s Market when it started to pour rain.  My partner decided to turn back and find some inside place to play with our little girl, and I continued on alone.  I was almost at the bank, where I needed to pick up some cash for the market, when I realized I hadn’t brought my wallet. I also didn’t have my keys so I couldn’t head back home to pick up my bank card.  I didn’t even have 50¢ for the pay phone!

Now, I could have relied on the kindness of a stranger to lend me their cell phone (I don’t have a cell myself), but instead I figured I would try at a corner store or other small business. However, while heading back toward home, I passed a Police Station.  I figured, the cops would surely help out a pregnant lady in need.

As it turned out, I didn’t need to ask any favours at all, since right there in the lobby was a courtesy phone.  As it turned out, it was a very good thing since it took about 10 tries before my partner felt his phone buzzing and finally picked up.

So if you’re ever in a ridiculous predicament like I was and don’t have or want to save two bits, check out your nearest police station (if there’s one nearby). Hopefully this location wasn’t the only one with a free phone.

One thought on “Quick Tip: Free Phone call

  1. My sister-in-law in Halifax is an ambulance driver.
    She does not own a cell phone. I asked her why not? She said if I was ever in trouble everyone else has a cell phone that I could use.!
    I don’t own on because it is just one more thing to worry about.

    Marlyn

Leave a Reply

