My Favourite Summer Soup

It’s green–the colour–and also very eco-friendly if you choose local organic veggies. I made this soup on Sunday after finding zucchini, cilantro and garlic at my favourite stall at the farmer’s market, Waratah Downs. Not that I came up with the idea this Sunday–I’ve been making this fabulous soup for years–but it has never been so good as it was using fresh local veg.  We had it for dinner with some grilled cheese sandwiches, and I froze enough for another dinner some time in the fall.  (Have I mentioned I LOVE my new freezer??)

So here is the recipe:

Zucchini-Cilantro Soup

1 tsp veg oil

1 onion, diced

approximately 1 lb or more of zucchini, sliced

1-2 cloves of garlic, minced (fresh if you can get it)

4 cups broth, or enough to cover the zucchini

large handful of cilantro, minced fine

Brown the onion in the vegetable oil over medium-low heat. Add the zucchini and let it get nice and brown in spots. Add the minced garlic and stir so it gets fragrant, about 1 minute. Add the broth. Let the soup bubble gently until zucchini is soft, about 15 minutes. Mash with a potato masher and then add cilantro.

Blend in a blender or with a hand blender–in a regular blender the zucchini will become very fine and the soup will take on a beautiful bright green colour. With a hand blender, it won’t mix in quite so well, but the soup will be just as flavourful.

Stir in some plain yoghurt if you like. Also if you are a lover of tofu, you can blend in some silken tofu, though don’t add too much or the flavour will dominate.

Enjoy with some grilled cheese sandwiches for a light and easy weekday supper.

6 thoughts on “My Favourite Summer Soup

  1. Hi there! Just found your blog through the Simple Green Frugal Co-op and I’m delighted to find another Ottawa blogger so I just had to stop in and say hello.

    This recipe sounds lovely and I can’t wait to give it a try!

    Cheers!

    Amber

    1. Hi Amber, thanks for commenting! Your blog is great–it looks like we’re embarking on similar pilgrimmages 🙂 As a funny coincidence, I just got Sandor Katz’s Wild Fermentations out of the library–I might be commenting on your blog soon with some sauerkraut questions of my own!

  2. I absolutely love this recipe. You had me at cilantro (its my favorite herb). If I were going to the market this weekend, I would be making this soup, but since I am camping this weekend, its going on my list for next weekend. Its sounds delish, and a great use for the zuchini bounty that is currently overflowing many gardens.

    1. Hi Tree, that was my thought regarding the zucchini! Everyone seems to have too much at this time of year, and this soup is a great way to use a bunch of it. Let me know if you try it!

Leave a Reply

