Clever, but not so deceptive

After posting about the cookbook Deceptively Delicious being the “Holy Grail” of cookbooks for moms, I actually tried a couple of the suggestions in the book. The results were mixed but edible, which is good but not great for a cookbook.

103186eFirst of all, I made a couple of purees. I did acorn squash and sweet potatoes by roasting them together in the oven and then using a Moulinex food mill that my dear friend D loaned to me some time ago to mash the gunk out of them. Actually I used the blender for the Acorn squash, which was not so successful as I had to add a bunch of water before the blender would puree it, thus watering down the result. The sweet potatoes done in the mill were easy and perfect and not a drop of water was added.

The first technique I tried was adding the acorn squash pulp to boxed mac & cheese. The result? I successfully added 1/2 cup of the somewhat watered-down pulp to a box and it still tasted like mac & cheese. The down side? My girl didn’t eat much of it. But then again, she’s not eating much of anything these days (due to the mokies). But I ate it and felt virtuous for having a veggie hidden in all that starch.

I also added a half-cup of the acorn squash to the stew I made that night, and it disappeared beautifully into the broth. Success!

The second thing I tried was the chocolate chip cookie recipe. Strangely, the recipe calls for chick peas. Whole chick peas. Yeah–not so deceptive, really. My husband and daughter have been rightfully sceptical of them . . . They were pretty good right out of the oven, but after sitting around (covered, overnight), the chick peas got all dried out and hard. Not so appetizing. The other problem with them is that due to the “virtue” of being chick-pea infused, I wound up giving myself permission to eat way too many at a sitting.

So, definitely not the Holy Grail as I’d hoped, but I’m not giving up yet. I have a bunch of sweet potato puree in the freezer, so if any readers have recipes for me, fire them off! I’m also looking for a kick-ass chocolate chip cookie recipe. NOT Chocolate “Chick” cookies–never again!

4 thoughts on “Clever, but not so deceptive

  1. Try the chocolate chip zucchini cookie recipes from Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. It’s on the book’s website. I know zucchini aren’t seasonal right now, but maybe you have some frozen?
    Also, there are some great recipes out there for pumpkin chocolate chip cookies.

  2. I so want a food mill, but not a new one, one of the antiques that does its job in all metal parts, that I can fix if need be 😉
    DH loves his food processor for this, but I can’t stomach the electric waste. I use the food processor, but not when I can do it with my madolin or by hand, it has to be a large quantity.
    Anyways, hiding vegetables in baked goods has always been predicated on the fact that they are pureed. I would suggest roasting the chick peas (gives them a good nutty flavor) and then grinding them and then substituting your chick pea flour for some of your real flour instead of leaving them whole.
    Or just introduce the family to roasted chick peas (instead of chips) and hummus.

    Love the pictures of the new baby.

  3. You might try the original book. The Sneaky Chef by Missy Chase Lapine, same concept but different recipies. Sienfield came out with hers after this was published, but due to her husbands celebrity it got a lot more press. Most of the people I know who have tried both books prefer Lapines recipies.

Leave a Reply

