Natural Deodorant Fail

I wrote a few months back about starting to use baking soda for deodorant. It surprised me at how well it worked, how cheap & natural it was, and how easy to apply, etc. I was totally sold on it and even started telling other people about it. It isn’t an anti-perspirant, and I would occasionally need to wash & re-apply mid-day, but overall it worked great.

That is, until my little girl developed her extra-sensitive nose. I think she has inherited it from my dad, who complains about the faintest whiff of perfume applied within 12 hours.

As you know, I’m tandem nursing her and my newborn (who is 5 weeks today–oh my!). Well, a couple weeks ago, she started the adorable habit of holding her nose when she smells something she doesn’t like. Not pinching it closed, but either hovering her hand near her nose just putting her fingers on the bridge of her nose as if to filter the smell through her fingers.

I noticed not long ago that she was doing this while nursing. Either that or stuffing her blankie between her face and my arm pit. I was confused at first but then it became clear when she told me, “I smell a smell.”

Sheesh! Well, the baking soda deodorant may work well at a distance, but not up close and personal. I really don’t want my children’s subconscious memory of nursing being suffused with the stink of mommy’s B.O.

So today I went out and bought some new deodorant. I got “unscented” but of course there’s still some perfume smell there . . . But really, I’d settle for anything rather than have my daughter hold her nose during Mokies! It’s just too depressing.

5 thoughts on “Natural Deodorant Fail

  1. hi there,i am using the Carb-Soda and corn Flour Mixture for a deodarent,and it work’s brilliantly,i mix 1Tbls of the Carb, and 5Tbls of the Corn and keep it in a pretty little glass container,and apply with a powder Puff,it’s been a test these last few day’s with the really Hot weather were having.

  2. Terressentials makes a GREAT natural deodorant. I have been using the lavender scented one – the essential oil smell dissipates really quickly for your daughter with the sensitive nose!

  3. Hey Colleen,

    I have been making and wearing my own homemade deodorant for a couple of months and it’s been working great. SB also tried it and likes it. Here is my recipe:

    *I make a half recipe so it fits in the tupperware that is about 3″ by 3″ square and 1″ high. This is a good shape and size because it is easy to pop out and apply.

    1/2 cup coconut oil
    4 tbs baking soda
    2 tbs cornstarch or more baking soda,
    10 drops tea tree oil

    Melt the coconut oil in a small container in a warm water bath. When the coconut oil is completely liquid stir in the baking soda and corn starch one spoonful at a time. Stir well. Add the tea tree oil and stir to combine. As it cools to room temperature stir it occasionally to redistribute the powders, which will sink in the liquid oil. This can be done faster if you put it in the fridge for five minutes then mix again. Keep the mixture in the fridge to keep it in solid form. Then just pop it out to apply and put it back in the fridge.

    I got my coconut oil in Little India here since it is considerably cheaper than at a health food store. The tea tree oil is quite expensive, but lasts a long time.

Leave a Reply

