Chocolate Chip Cookies

I mentioned a few posts ago that I didn’t have a good chocolate chip cookie recipe I can rely on. This has been a sad state of affairs, as I LOVE chocolate chip cookies. I remember my neighbour making incredible chocolate chip cookies when I was really young. They were fantastic–soft, with a crisp exterior, especially magical just out of the oven on a cool fall day after running around the back yard playing freeze tag for the better part of an afternoon. I wanted a recipe like that!

I’ve finally worked out a pretty good chocolate chip cookie recipe, based on the one in Deceptively Delicious, but with a few modifications. This is the recipe I imagine my kids might miss when they move away from home. It makes nicely spreading cookies, rich with chips, and with just a little extra flavour & texture due to the 1/2 cup oats thrown in.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 cup butter, softened

1 cup brown sugar

1 large egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups chocolate chips

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup old-fashioned oats

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cream butter with brown sugar. Beat in egg and vanilla, scraping down the sides as needed to ensure an even mixture. Add chocolate chips and mix on low until combined. Mix dry ingredients together in a medium bowl, and add all at once to butter mixture. Mix on low until a thick dough forms, again scraping down bowl as needed.

Form balls of dough by tablespoon on a cookie sheet covered with a sheet of parchment paper. Flatten slightly. Bake until just set–do not over-cook–11 to 13 minutes.

Makes 2 dozen cookies.

As with all cookie recipes, I like to make 1 dozen of these, and freeze the other dough balls so I can have fresh cookies another day. I freeze them individually on a cookie sheet and then put them into a zip-lock baggie for longer storage. When baking cookies from frozen, reduce temperature to 325 degrees and bake for about 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

