Detox Week

I can’t link it to just one thing, but a bunch of things: being busy last week and eating mostly beige food, coupled with two giant Easter dinners back home flanked by two terrible fast-food-on-the-road travel days on the way to Sudbury and back . . . all this has led to a terrible feeling of heaviness, slowness, general lack of good health.

In response, I’ve named this week Detox week. I’m aiming for lots of vegetables–including lots of plant leaves; lots of fish; little meat; and lots of raw food. While I’m totally not “into” raw food as a lifestyle or even a concept (food tastes REALLY GOOD cooked, and I’m not about to give that up!), right now I just feel the need for as much nutrition as I can cram into my body.

I’m also going to exercise and drink 2 Litres of water daily. My dream about doing Sun Salutes must mean something! In addition, I think we’ll try to forage some greens for salads this week. There should be some dandelion leaves budding in the parks, and maybe I can find some lamb’s quarters too. I’ll report back on what we find.

So here’s this week’s meal plan: 7 days of health!

Tuesday: green soup (watercress or spinach) with homemade crackers

Wednesday: salmon and roasted sweet potatoes

Thursday: roasted veggies and salad

Friday: tabouli and spaghetti squash

Saturday: veggie lasagne

Sunday: squash soup, and salad

Monday: eggs, salad and bean salad

Wish me luck! Let me know if you have a detox week at your house, or if you had one, what would you plan?

4 thoughts on “Detox Week

  1. I tried to have a detox week while Nige was away. It would probably be considered a fail by more committed detoxers (for example, I drank cappuccino every day, enjoyed a beer and even sweetened whipped cream, among other detox sins) but I felt great after anyway! I suggest you start your day with fresh lemon water and invest in some herbal detox tea. Good luck!

  2. Hi,

    I have just discovered your blog… I’m not a momma but I’m definitely a frugal urbanite!

    Currently doing a detox too. This book is great:
    The Complete Natural Medicine Guide to Women’s Health

    It is a bit of a detox overload, you could be detoxing all year! But its well worth the read. I found it at Winners for $5.99 last year and have put it to use since, (sometimes halfheartedly).

    It says start your day with a juice made of:

    Juice of 1 grapefruit
    2 tsp fresh chopped ginger
    1 – 2 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
    1 tsp. turmeric
    pinch cayenne pepper
    1 tbsp. whey protein (optional)

    I didn’t have the cayenne or whey protein, but tried this the last few days and it really energizes and preps your stomach(/liver) for the day! Don’t be scared by the ingredients, it really just takes like grapefruit. It also suggests to add water to fill a glass to dilute a bit if you want.

    the detox I’m following (from the book) says, basically, no meat, wheat, dairy, nuts, sugar, caffeine, eggs. Lots of raw broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, ground flax and other fibre.

    Thanks for the great blog!

  3. Thanks for the detox tips! I’m definitely doing it half-assed. Today I had pizza and cookies, and of course I’m not giving up my daily coffee (with cream and sugar). But still I feel better for trying to cram in more veggies, reduce my white flour intake and drink enough water for once.

Leave a Reply

