Living the Dream

I noticed that a past post of mine, on single-income family living has been getting some play recently, and it has made me think about our current one-income lifestyle. When I wrote that post, I hadn’t told my boss that I wasn’t planning to return to my job after my maternity leave is up. Now I’ve told her, and now I’ve told you too.

What does this mean? Only that as of now my bosses are age 3, and 7 months respectively and my job title is “Mommy”. It means I’ve got two long-term projects (one boy-type and one girl-type). The days are long, the pay is crap, and I’m loving (nearly) every minute of it. This is what I want to do when I grow up.

This also means that we’re in this for the mid-to-long-haul: this isn’t just one year of living on 75% of our family income. This is what we’re looking at for the next several years. (We haven’t put a date on my return to work, but–and don’t tell my husband this–I’m planning to stay off as long as possible. I want to be that mom who holds hands during field trips year after year in my kids’ classrooms).

My mat leave money runs out at the end of the summer. Before then, we need some serious plans in place for making this happen. I have a hunch it might involve more than using cloth toilet paper.

2 thoughts on “Living the Dream

  1. I can’t wait to hear what you figure out! The only way we have been able to do it (but then we have a big mortgage) is to use our savings and then do it until the youngest starts school.

  2. You can do it. We have always been a 1 income family. Before your maternity money runs out you need to start trimming your budget. You will find that as a stay at home mom you have more “time” to do things from scratch which saves money.

    The other side of it is you can be a work at home mom. Find something you love to do that you can do from home to fill the gap.

    I think once you start looking at living on one income and where you can cut costs you will see its more doable than most people think.

    Sure we only own 1 car, and I haven’t gone out for a night out in I don’t know how long, but its all worth it for someone (me when they were little and him when they started school) to be home with them and available.

    When you don’t work you don’t need a wardrobe, or packed lunches, and you save on commute costs as well.

    When you factor in child care when you do work, it becomes doable.

    Can’t wait to read what you decide. Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

