Week in Review–no-spend week #3

It’s now three weeks down in my no-spend month, and this week was the best so far. I don’t think I cheated once this week, except for a bus ride back from the Experimental Farm where we went for the sheep shearing festival yesterday. I have a membership so we didn’t have to pay admission.

I’m really enjoying this no-spend month, and I’m almost tempted to keep it up for the summer. I might have to get a haircut at some point, and we will be doing some travelling at some point, but other than those little things, I’m feeling good about the no spending.

One great thing is that weekends haven’t been about shopping. Too often I’ll make some grand plans for a bus expedition out to Canadian Tire on a Saturday afternoon because I can’t make it there during the week. That takes up my whole day, and nothing gets done. This weekend we spent two whole days together as a family, going to the Nature Museum on Saturday (and beating the crowds with our membership card!) and the farm on Sunday. Then today I organized a corner of our dining room that’s been needing attention–a major accomplishment!

Of course tomorrow I’ll have to do a big-ish grocery shop, but I’m happy to confirm that one of the fringe benefits of not buying anything apart from groceries is that I’ve been able to spend a lot more weekend time with the fam. And that, my friends, is priceless!

2 thoughts on “Week in Review–no-spend week #3

  1. Sounds like things are going well. I would love to see how you limit your spending during the summer. I would encourage you to try no spend in the summer (within reason) maybe have an entertainment budget that when its gone its gone and go from there. Maybe I will join you on a no spend summer, that is one I really think I can do. We don’t have major plans this summer.
    For me it would have to be no spend outsid the budget, in the budget is gas and groceries, but nothing beyond that. We don’t have any big plans, but I was thinking of spending my Saturdays at local parks with the girls and a picnic basket.

Leave a Reply

