Don’t believe everything the internet tells you

When I saw instructions on Flickr for making Apple Cider Vinegar from apple scraps, it seemed too good to be true. And I said as much. Apparently you can just stick apple cores in a jar with some water and it will magically turn into lovely ACV after a couple of months.

Well, I stuck my cores in water–organic cores, tap water–and now I’m waiting. Every once in awhile I sniff the jar, and PHEW!! it stinks to high heaven! It just smells like mold, disgusting putrid immune-busting mold. It’s been over a week now, and it ain’t getting better.

Now, against my better judgement, I’m going to keep this thing around just in case it MAGICALLY transforms into vinegar. Which I doubt. But if it does, I’ll be sure to tell you.

3 thoughts on “Don’t believe everything the internet tells you

  1. When I make fruit scrap vinegar I put fruit scraps in a 4 quart jar, fill it with water and add like 1 cup of honey, stir it almost everyday for like…. 1 week or 2 then strain it and leave it for as long as you want. If you leave the fruity bits in there, they rot. Not tasty. 🙂 Hope that helps.

Leave a Reply

