Pastured Yogurt!

Home-Made Raw Milk Yogurt
Home-made raw milk yogurt

I didn’t buy the cow, but I got the milk for free . . .

Raw organic pastured milk, that is. I was going to buy a cow share, but in the end took a long hard look at the budget and decided against it. The very sweet farmer, after hearing my budget constraints, sent a free bottle of milk along for me with my friend who did sign herself up for his milk.

So I became the owner of 1.5 litres of raw milk. It had nearly 3 cm of cream on top, and it smelled like a fragrant pasture. There are many health benefits attributed to raw, pastured, unhomogenized dairy products; access to this kind of “real milk” is lobbied for by the Weston A. Price Foundation.

The only thing was that I found it just a little bit different from what I’m used to. So instead of pouring it over my cereal, I used some for making pancakes, and the rest, I used for making yogurt. I took a very low-tech approach, as outlined below. Keep in mind, the milk is no longer “raw”, as heating for yogurt effectively pasteurizes it.

Home Made Yogurt (without a thermometer)

milk

yogurt with active cultures

Warm up slow cooker on low setting. Add hot tap water.

Heat milk in a saucepan on the stove until frothy and steamy. Then cool the milk by placing the saucepan in a sink of cold water and stirring the milk. Cool the milk until it is “warm-hot, not owie hot” (as my daughter would say). Add active yogurt–approx. 2 tbsp yogurt per four cups of milk–and whisk until combined.

Pour into clean mason jars and place jars in the slow cooker, making sure the hot water does not rise above the jars. Turn off/unplug the slow cooker and wrap it with towels. Let sit for several hours. The longer you let it sit, the firmer and more sour the yogurt will be.

Remove from slow cooker, place lids on jars, and refrigerate. The yogurt will firm up as it cools.

~ / ~

It’s like magic: milk alchemy! I was so excited to be making yogurt that I kept on wanting to lift up the towels to take a peek–a peek of what, I have no idea! But it worked, and I’m stoked. The sourness of the yogurt works very well with the more complex flavour of the pastured milk. And the price is better than any organic yogurt out there, even with the $3 per litre price tag. And hey–no more plastic yogurt tubs to stress about!

How about you? Do you make yogurt? Have you tried raw or pastured milk?

6 thoughts on “Pastured Yogurt!

  1. I do make yogurt, and the only milk I drink anymore is raw. I prefer goat milk, but occasionally have cow milk as well. I volunteer at an agricultural education center, where I milk the goats daily; I board one there as well. Since I began drinking raw milk, my sever allergies have all but disappeared; I used to be on allergy shots, as I tested positive for so many things. I’m no longer on the shots, and have few “breakthrough” days now. Goat milk is easier for me to digest, but I whole-heartedly embrace both varieties, as long as they’re raw! Nature’s perfect food!

  2. I would love raw milk, I grew up on it. However without having a farm in the area that I can regularly check on the conditions of the cow, I can’t do raw right now. Currently to purchase a herd share so I can get raw milk I have to make a 30 minute drive (each way) every week and I just can’t afford or justify it. If you are looking for a good milk try a pastured jersey milk. This is what I currently get and while it is pasturized, it is my best option right now.

    1. Great tips.
      I’ve been making yogurt using a candy thermometer but wasn’t quite sure how to go about it with out one. So thanks for the advice – and the hot water bottle idea!
      Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

