“Chips”

A friend of mine has started taking me to Food Basics down at Herongate. It’s got some great deals, including large pita bread at $1.69 per package. That’s 6 very big pitas–about 12″ across–at about 30 cents each. I’ve been getting the whole wheat ones which are very tasty and also very filling, especially with hummus or refried beans. Yum!

Last time I went I stocked up and got about 4 bags and thew them in the freezer. Now when I want something to dip, roll or top, I pull out a pita.

But my favourite thing to do with them, especially if they sit around and get a little stale, is to tear them up into pieces and toast them in the oven to make “chips”. Super fast, healthy, substantial and delicious. Maybe next time I will try brushing them with butter or olive oil, plus some salt and/or spices for an even more delicious treat.

Other things I’ve been doing with the pitas include tearing away one half, folding it over with shredded cheese inside, and making a melt in my skillet. I’ve also used them as a wrap for scrambled eggs, but you could wrap anything inside really.

What do you do with your pita bread?

2 thoughts on ““Chips”

  1. Hi!

    We had this SUPER awesome ‘thing’ when I was a kid that allowed you to make microwave chips! (Tupperware or Rubbermaid….) I don’t know if they still exist… *tears*)

    You cut tortillas, rather than pitas, into small triangles, arranged them in this round, slotted ‘thing’ and microwave…. some how it crisps them up and they last for ages!!!

    R

Leave a Reply

