Cheap as free chicken stock

I can’t believe I haven’t blogged about this before. It’s such a part of my life that I suppose I just assumed that I must have written about it. It’s a recipe and it’s a way of life: making chicken broth from frozen accumulated chicken bones and veggie scraps.

Simply put, whenever we have chicken I save the bones in a zip-lock baggie in the freezer. I keep all the bones (including the ones off your plate if you ever come to my house for dinner), and the scraps including some skin. I also keep my veggie scraps, especially those from onions, carrots, celery, tomatoes, shallots and garlic.

When I have enough, I stick everything in my crock pot overnight with a couple of bay leaves and some apple cider vinegar, and simmer until it’s time to make soup for dinner the next day. You can do this on the stove as well, with a pot on the lowest setting.

This stuff is delicious and wonderfully nutritious. The acid from the vinegar helps to break down the proteins, making home made broth a great source for dissolved minerals which are readily taken up by the body. I’ve also recently read that gelatin-rich broths actually help your body absorb protein from other sources, so you can get by with less meat. Just another reason why soups are so frugal.

I’ve got a pot simmering right now for tonight’s soup. We’ll have chicken soup and home made bread. Now that’s frugally delicious 🙂

2 thoughts on “Cheap as free chicken stock

  1. I also never heard of adding vinegar, but what an interesting idea!

    You know, it astounds me that it really takes so little to make something so wonderful. And yet all over the world people are starving while we throw the bones away in droves. I wish more folks would save every bit and truly put it all to good use, myself included! 🙂

Leave a Reply

