Getting my house in order

I’ve spent a lot of time the last year and a half getting our financial house in order. We’ve made a lot of progress, though we’re not safe from back-sliding by any means. Gotta keep on top of things, but I think we’ve got some good systems in place to keep things under control for the most part.

In fact, I’m so inspired by the changes we’ve been able to make–not just cleaning up messes only to have them re-appear, but actual lifestyle changes–that I’m taking on a new challenge. I’m going to try getting my actual physical house in order.

I’ve posted a few things on housekeeping and cleaning schedules and cleaning carts and so on, but I’m now deciding to take on this new challenge in a bigger way. After my friend Pamela posted about Flylady, I just had to check it out.

This site is for me! I was hooked by the question, “Are YOU living in CHAOS (Can’t Have Anyone Over Syndrome)?” Why yes, FlyLady, I have been for a very long time! I love these catch phrases and find them very motivating.

Another favourite thing is that each message sent out ends with the very encouraging, “You are not behind! I don’t want you to try to catch up; I just want you to jump in where we are. O.K.?”

The first baby step you begin with as a “Flybaby” is to shine your kitchen sink. This may involve removing dirty dishes from the sink just so you can clean it. And then you shine it every night before bed. The idea is that if you get just one little area looking beautiful and under control, you will love it so much that you will want to start scrubbing other things and getting them to feel as good as your sink.

Well, I’m about a week in, and I have to say it works wonders!

I think, just like my feelings of accomplishment over having made some financial changes in our life and bringing us to a better place, that small accomplishments lead to self-esteem, which leads to bigger accomplishments. Getting to where we want to be–isn’t that where we all want to be?

What motivates you to make and stick with positive change? And what do you think about shining your kitchen sink?

2 thoughts on “Getting my house in order

  1. Oh I like this!! So very true – I love the evenings when we get the kitchen spic and span because it starts off our next day on the right note. It’s great coming down in the morning to a clean space! I’ll have to check her out.

    p.s. really like your decluttering list also – I’ve been trying to purge over the last couple of years and even getting rid of a handful of things feels great!

  2. WOW, I am delighted you found the tip useful! You go girl!

    Everyone in the house has their own “shiny sink”. We have always kept the sink and counter fairly clear, although not shone daily. However, my own shiny sink is the bathroom. I find that if I swish and wipe in the morning after my shower, the rest of the day is easier to keep picking up. If I don’t clean the bathroom, somehow, I don’t do well with my routines.

    So, keep up the shiny sink, but watch to see what is the starting point for each family member. Just remember it isn’t your choice what is important to them, but once identified, it may help them get the ball rolling, so to speak.

    I have one rule for myself: No matter how lazy I feel, the only thing I have to do is swish and wipe. The rest is gravy. The result is that once I am over that hump, I usually keep going.

Leave a Reply

