Sourdough starter status

A few of you mentioned that you would take me up on my offer to send you some starter. Finally, after weeks of travelling, xmas activities, and general post-holiday catching up, I’m back to my routine and my starter is in a good enough state to be given away.

I’ve got some drying right now and I’ll email those of you who commented before to get your addresses. Oh, and if you’re in the Ottawa area, I would be more than happy to share the love.

As for working with the dried starter, there are no guarantees, but it’s worth a try! I would love to know how it works out though.

Okay, I’ll be in touch.

4 thoughts on “Sourdough starter status

  1. hi there! I am actively searching for sourdough starters in my local area, and I came across your blog (it’s great, by the way! it looks like we have a few things in common…mindful living, eco-friendly, homeschooling, kombuchas, Nourishing Traditions, etc.) If you are still sharing some with others, I would definitely be interested in some! Thank you, and I hope to hear from you soon…

  2. I was just doing s search for sourdough starters in Ottawa and came across this. I am starting my own starter (though I don’t know how successful I will be). If you are still doing the starter in ottawa let me know please 🙂

    Also, I’m from Sudbury originally!

    1. Hey hey! I’ve actually moved back to Sudbury! Isn’t that what we all do eventually? 🙂

      And I don’t have a starter going right now anyway. But, I had a ton of luck in Ottawa using organic rye berries (from the Herb & Spice) which I ground myself (you could probably get fresh rye flour maybe from George at market time?), and bottled water.

      I use the “1 tablespoon method” outlined here: ftp://rtfm.mit.edu/pub/usenet-by-group/news.answers/food/sourdough/starters

      This is the “Starter Doctor” file from the old rec.food.sourdough Usenet group–old but Gold!!

      Good luck with it!

      Let me know if you get one going!

Leave a Reply

