Kombucha is healthy again!

If you’re in Ottawa and you’d like a chunk of my SCOBY, leave me a comment and I’ll get back to you. I could also try mailing a chunk in a zip-lock baggie if anyone is interested in giving that a try!

I figured out that when I was brewing in 1 L Mason jars, the mouth wasn’t big enough and was not giving my babies enough air circulation. Either that or it wasn’t the proper ratio of surface area to volume.

I started brewing 2 L in a 4 L glass jar with a wide surface, and within 3 or 4 batches, she has recovered completely. So, we’re back in business!

13 thoughts on “Kombucha is healthy again!

  1. Hello!

    I would like to try this. Could you please give me instructions on how to use and consume it?
    frugally yours,
    carmen

  2. I bought a scoby from Cultures for Health in the US and it took over 2 weeks to get to me, so I’m a bit paranoid that it’s going to be a flop. It’s been rehydrating for a week and could take up to 3 more. If it doesn’t work out, I would love a piece from you. I am curious to know how you obtained your original scoby.

  3. I was googling places in Ottawa to find a kombucha starter and found your post – I would love to get a SCOBY to start making my own Kombucha if you have any to spare.

    Thanks!

  4. I’m on the hunt for downtown Ottawa scoby too! I saw your post about being reluctant to give your address to random internet people and completely understand. Would you be willing to meet at Herb and Spice, a Bridgehead where I could treat you to a pot of tea, or other location?

  5. Hello, I also live in the Ottawa region and I would love a SCOBY.
    I recently discovered kombucha and am really interested in obtaining
    a mother to start me off. Can we arrange a meeting place so I could come pick it up?
    Thank you in advance

    1. Sorry, I’ve moved out of town! However, you can totally brew your own from a bottle of unpasteurized Kombucha from the natural food store. Good luck!

      1. That would be great!
        Could you please contact me when you
        Have some ready?
        Thank you for the offer

  6. Hi, I live in Ottawa and I am interested in getting a scoby. Please let me know where can I get it.
    Thanks in advance.
    Parul

Leave a Reply

