More on homeschooling: the getting ready

Now that the decision has been made, it’s now time to start getting ready for homeschooling in the Fall. We’ll be doing Waldorf kindergarten which means strong home rhythms, lots of time outside, singing and moving, and lots of art, crafts and bread baking. There will also be lots of time for playing, building with lego, dressing up, and telling stories.

My curriculum is a full selection of songs, rhymes and stories for the seasons. There are a few books out there, and full curriculum packages to be had, but I’ve found a ton of materials through the public library. Many of the books recommended for Waldorf Early Years have been available through an interlibrary loan from the Edmonton public library. I’ve especially enjoyed looking at the Canadian song materials from the library and adding songs that reference “North Ontar-i-o-i-0”. This process has been so much fun. Learning new songs and rhymes, and re-discovering some from my childhood has been really satisfying and enjoyable, and I can’t wait to “unveil” them for the kids in the Fall.

The second key factor in planning for Waldorf homeschooling is getting our home ready. We have already seen huge success in de-cluttering and simplifying our living space. The more clear space we have, the better we play and the easier things are to keep tidy. This means a lot now, but it will mean even more in the long cold days of January!

So we are going further with that process especially with simplifying the play area, moving away from plastic, and gathering a few natural toys. We will be on the lookout for a few key pieces: two play stands, a play kitchen, a wooden doll house, some more play silks, and some natural baskets to keep things in. Some of these will require a bit of an investment, but if they are things of beauty that we will enjoy living with and quality that can be passed down to our grandchildren, it will be money well spent.

The third part of preparing for homeschooling has to do with me. I love that in Waldorf there is a big emphasis on the personal development of the parent/teacher. In that vein I am working on developing my will–the control I have over my impulses and emotions–as well as on my personal rhythms. This is a healing journey for me. Luckily, the more I develop myself, the more I can offer to my family.

What an exciting journey! I can’t wait to share more with you.

3 thoughts on “More on homeschooling: the getting ready

  1. Sounds like a bunch of exciting things are going on!

    I’m now singing that one line over and over again

    “North Ontari-o-i-o” over and over again. 🙂 Aye with the black fly pickin’ my bones!

    Good luck with all this! It should be a great adventure!

  2. Great post! I am looking for a new storage system for my toddlers books and toys. He is 13 months and just started walking. I realize your child(ren) are older, nonetheless, I am interested to hear how the natural baskets and such work out. Have you ever been to Nest in the Market? They have some great wooden toys as well as a play kitchen.

  3. Hi! I am delighted to have found your blog! Do you have a community of Waldorf homeschoolers there? I am in Montreal and will soon be starting kindergarten for my 5 1/2 year old. I am on the lookout for other homeschooling families who are using the Waldorf pedagogy in the Montreal area. Anyway, I’ve happily added your blog to my reader.

Leave a Reply

