Real Food Standby #2: Smoothies

We’re officially on day 4 of our Real Food Revolution, and things are going so well. My kid has been able to stay in the “green zone” pretty much 100% of the time, not counting normal reactions to having shiny pieces of red ribbon snatched away by her little brother and that sort of thing.

To be honest, I feel a little guilty and silly for not trying this earlier. Imagine trying to learn and figure out the world, all the while battling these monster reactions to stuff your mom keeps giving you!!

I think the biggest change has been with our breakfast. We used to have oatmeal with honey and blueberries, or cream of wheat with brown sugar. No more! We’re still having oatmeal, but I’m using a few drops of Stevia instead of the honey. And we’re also starting the day with a smoothie, which gives them some fruit, some pro-biotics in the form of yogurt, and some omega-3s from flax oil.

With organic blueberries and sustainable strawberries, this is certainly adding to our budget but hopefully next year I can stock up when they are in season. (I think I will need a bigger freezer!) The kids are loving their smoothies (as am I!), and I feel really good getting all that healthy stuff into them at the top of the day.

So here’s the recipe. You can adjust the quantities depending on your taste and budget. I just eyeball it, to be honest!

Breakfast Smoothie

yogurt

frozen blueberries

frozen strawberries

1 ripe banana

4-5 drops of Stevia

3-4 tsp flax oil (it’s pretty flavourless so I’ve been increasing it day by day)

water to cover

Toss everything into the blender. Blend on highest speed until smooth. Enjoy with a side of soaked oatmeal.

6 thoughts on “Real Food Standby #2: Smoothies

  1. Hello,

    Great idea, exchanging stevia for honey! I replaced regular sugar with honey (what a difference!) but hadn’t tried stevia… though agave nectar/syrup in baking has been nice to work with. It has a much lower glycemic index, and makes you feel much more satisfied!

    I pick strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries in season to keep in the freezer. 6 four-litre baskets of strawberries easily last through the winter, and what a refreshing taste in January!!!! I hull them, wash them, and pack in freezer bags… they keep great.

    Thanks for the ‘return of the posts’, I really enjoy following. Cheers.

    1. Aww–thanks Rebecca! I’m definitely going to give the berry picking a try next summer. Meant to this year, but life with 2 kids can get in the way sometimes, you know? 🙂 I haven’t tried agave, but maybe I’ll give it a go at the times we will be having some sweets.

  2. Homemade smoothies are an afternoon staple-snack here. Like you, I put whatever berries I have in the freezer or (if in season) in the fridge, a little honey, yogurt, ground flax seed and a banana if I have one – filling and healthy! Yum!

Leave a Reply

