Another quick and effective meditation

Here is another very useful nugget from Thich Nhat Hanh, this one from a series of audio talks I borrowed from the library entitled Living Without Pain or Fear.

Breathing in I know I am alive

Breathing out I relax my body

I have found these two simple thoughts to profoundly change my state of being within seconds. I have been amazed at how the affirmation “I am alive” roots me in the present moment almost defiantly–I am alive and I deserve to be. I can allow myself to be flawed and human and alive. And then I feel the tension whoosh out of my body with the out-breath and I am left happier and more confident, ready to face what lies ahead.¬†

2 thoughts on “Another quick and effective meditation

Leave a Reply

