Debt Repayment Round-up

money-by-tax-credits-dot-net-copyright-2012-on-flickr

Since I posted my Five Tricks for Painless Debt Pay-off, I’ve been trying to put some of my own tricks to work. So far, number three is my favourite, and I have seen my small extra payments really adding up. I also applied #2, but I am worried that re-allocating my little cushion to pay off debt will leave us with nothing extra at Christmas time.

I am so motivated to pay off these debts that I want to harness the power of the interweeb to help me. So here, for my reading and yours, is a round-up of 20 of the internet’s best ideas for paying down debt faster.

11 Ways to Get Out of Debt Faster

I’ve been a fan of The Simple Dollars for decades! They give solid advice.

How One Woman Paid Off $23,000 of Debt in 15 Months

An inspiring story of one woman’s spending fast.

How to Pay Off Debt Fast with a Low Income

This one has links to a lot of other great resources. I’d say it’s definitely worth spending some time cruising around this blog.

Kick Debt’s Butt! How to Get Out of Debt On Your Own

This one is aimed at the under-30 demographic. Another inspiring story of a guy who paid off $80,000 in three years.

6 Ways to Get out of Debt Faster

This Canadian article has two ideas I haven’t seen elsewhere.

How to Pay Off Your Debt Faster And Save Money

Some ideas for paying off your mortgage faster, and how much money you will save by doing so.

How I Paid Off $90,000 in Debt in Three Years

Another story mainly aimed at young people. This young lady made some major shifts in her lifestyle in order to pay off her huge student debt.

How To Pay Off Debt Fast With The Stack Method

A solid description of a debt repayment plan from Lifehack.org

How I Paid Off $158,169 in Debt

An inspiring personal story about one woman’s journey out of debt, from Time magazine.

Debt Snowflaking – 25 Ways to Find Extra Money and Pay Down Debt

Lots of ideas for making a little extra cash to put towards your debt.

33 Proven Ways to Reduce Personal Debt

A couple who paid off $66,000 in debt gives their unconventional tips for reducing spending and reducing debt.

How to Pay off Debt Fast: The Most Efficient Method

A clear explanation of the “ladder method” of paying off debt, including a comparison with the “snowball method”.

The Psychological Trick That Will Help You Pay Off Debt Fast

A slightly different perspective is offered here. As the title indicates, this one gets into the psychology of debt repayment.

How to Trick Yourself Into Paying Off Your Credit Card Debt

Another one from the Huffington Post, this one gets into the nitty gritty of holding yourself back from excess spending.

HOW I PAID OFF $34,579 IN STUDENT LOANS IN UNDER 4 YEARS

Here is a cute one complete with comics! I liked how this blogger thought about prioritizing what was important in life.

How a simple family budget paid off $5000 of debt in 6 weeks

This one features an in-depth lesson on creating a family budget.

We Were Tired of Being Broke So We Paid Off $52K in 7 Months

Another personal story, this one from The Debt Myth, detailing how a couple used the snowball method to get out of debt quickly.

The 8 Mistakes We Made While Paying Off Debt

This article looks at debt repayment from a different perspective.

How I Paid Off $8,100 of Credit Card Debt in Just 3 Months

This blogger aggressively paid down her debt, and writes about the extreme spending cuts she imposed on herself.

A Fun Way to Pay Off Debt Faster!

Last but not least, a fun printable game for tracking your pay-down progress.

What I got from sifting through these articles is a major boost of motivation to pay off my own debts! Looking at what these families, couples and individuals have done, the techniques they’ve tried, and the solutions they’ve come up with, is very inspiring for my own situation. I highly recommend cruising through these sites, taking notes, and getting stoked on your own ability to crush your debt. I know you can do it! I’ve done it twice before, and I know I can do it again.

One thought on “Debt Repayment Round-up

  1. I might share some of these with my technical report writing students when we discuss vagueness (since vague thinking about money often leads to debt). Thanks!

Leave a Reply

