Which Way?

fiery-sky-with-wordsSo, this might surprise a few people (especially people who knew me 10 years or longer ago), but I am currently in the process of making a big decision. A decision I never expected to be making: whether or not I should enter the ministry. Like, to become a Christian minister in the United Church of Canada. Not a choice I ever dreamed or imagine I would be facing, but here it is.

It is a very hard thing, to decide–to discern–one’s calling. Is it to parenthood? Is it to secular leadership? Political or community leadership? Is it to freelance work? To being a keeper of the home? (Okay, I’m definitely not called to this one, though it might help us all out a little bit!)

I have many of the gifts that are required by a minister: I am a good listener. I understand the admin work required. I enjoy wrestling with engaging texts, and I enjoy speaking in front of people. I am inspired by sharing my values and encouraging people to believe that things can get better. I also have a handful of people who think I can do this thing, and who are willing to support me through their time, attention and effort.

And yet, I have so many questions, so many concerns. Can I do this work, and still be the parent I want to be? Will becoming a Minister mean that suddenly everything I say will be interpreted through that lens? That people who think all Christians are stupid, or judgmental, or bigoted, will then assume that I am stupid, judgmental and bigoted? Will I ever get to be at home?

That’s a real mix of questions, both mundane and political, but the two foremost concerns are around my family, and my audience. I want to be here for my family, especially with my daughter on the brink of the tender tween years. I don’t want to be taken away with meetings, faraway coursework, or even writing papers. I want to be *here* for both of them, with both of them, soaking up this one chance I get to be this close two two other humans. They are my whole world, and I won’t let a process undermine that.

As for my audience, I really don’t know how I feel about putting on that mantle of Minister. I have come to have great respect for ministers, but that has been a long journey, and a very personal one. I worry that by joining this huge organization called Church, my voice will be heard only by Christians, that people outside of the church will automatically filter me out — like I once filtered out people who called themselves Christian.

(It really is true that as you judge, so you will be judged.)

So here I am, near the start of this journey, trying to decide which way to go. I’ll let you know where my journey takes me, and I’d love to hear about yours.

One thought on “Which Way?

  1. I wish you all the best in your inspired decision-making process. I know that you will make a genuine contribution to our world.

Leave a Reply

